Meal-in-a-biscuit crackers by Sarah Wilson

These little treats are incredibly tasty; contain NO sugar or gluten and are really easy to make!

Meal-in-a-biscuit cracker
Since I have removed sugar from my diet, it has been essential to find healthy, filling substitutes for when The Craving calls.

You will need:
Ingredients
½ cup (75g) of chia seeds
½ cup (75g) of sunflower seeds
½ cup (60g) of sesame seeds
½ cup (50g) of almond meal or LSA (I could NOT find this in London and eventually a lady in Wholefoods showed me that you can find it in the nut section under ground almonds. It’s expensive, so iF you like, you can make it yourself – I’ll write that in the next post).
2 cloves of garlic (OK I’m not a fan of garlic and hate having garlic breath, so I left this one out the next time I made them)
2 tablespoons of chopped herbs (Sarah suggests using sage, I liked using dill)
1 teaspoon dulse flakes (optional) I highly recommend as they add a bit of salty flavor
¼ teaspoon salt
(I added pumpkin seeds too)

Makes 20

How to make:
Meal-in-a-biscuit-cracker
Preheat the oven to 170°C (Gas 3) and line a baking tray with baking paper. Combine the seeds and almond meal (ground almond) in a bowl, whisk the remaining ingredients with 250ml water. Pour the liquid mixture onto the seed mixture and stir until thick and combined. Spread the mixture on the tray, pressing down using the back of a spoon, until it is 5mm thick. Bake for 30 minutes. Remove from the oven, cut into 20 crackers using a knife, flip them over and bake for another 25 min. Cool completely on the tray. Store in a sealed container for 2 weeks.

*From the book ‘I quit sugar’ by Sarah Wilson

Leave a comment